Click here for the Main NFA Website


  • Please note that you need to be an NFA member to register for the conference.  
  • NFA membership can be purchased here.
  • You must use the same email for membership and registration in order to be able to register. Please use your institutional email.
  • After membership is confirmed (please allow 1-2 business days), please register here.
  • Early-bird registration fees for 2017 will be $250 for regular members and $150 CAD for PhD Students (plus taxes) starting on May 10, 2017.
  • After June 15, registration fees will be $350 for regular members and $250 for PhD Students (plus taxes).

About the NFA

For the past 28 years, the Northern Finance Association has provided an annual fall forum at which finance academics, professionals, and PhD students from throughout North America and around the world gather to hear and present the latest research in all areas of finance. These areas include: asset pricing, arbitrage, behavioral finance, corporate finance, corporate governance, derivatives, emerging markets, financial development, financial institutions, finance theory, financial regulation, international finance, market efficiency, market microstructure, mathematical finance, real estate finance, and other papers of general interest.
The originators of the NFA were Lawrence Kryzanowski (Concordia University), Vijay Jog (Carleton University and Giovanni Barone-Adesi (then at University of Alberta).

The Northern Finance Association was federally incorporated as a not-for-profit society in September 2012. The intent was to establish a permanent association whose board members would be democratically elected by its members. Voting for the board members will occur at the 2013 annual meetings in Laval. However, in order to first incorporate the association and develop a set of corporate bylaws, federal law required that we establish an inaugural board. As such, the Articles of Incorporation of the Association specify a board size of 4-10 members and list the following individuals as inaugural board members:

  • Brian Smith (Wilfred Laurier University), President
  • Issouf Soumar√© (Universit√© Laval), Vice President and Program Co-Chair
  • Gordon Sick (University of Calgary), Secretary/Treasurer (until Sept.)
  • Ron Giammarino (University of British Columbia)
  • Mark Kamstra (York University)
  • Lisa Kramer (University of Toronto)
  • Vikas Mehrotra (University of Alberta)

NFA's First Board of Directors in 1989

  • G. Barone Adesi (University of Alberta)
  • P.P. Boyle (Waterloo University)
  • J. Chua (University of Calgary)
  • J.C. Dodds (Saint Mary's University)
  • R. Grauer (Simon Fraser University)
  • P. Halpern (University of Toronto)
  • V.M. Jog (Carleton University)
  • N. Khoury (Universit√© Laval)
  • L. Kryzanowski (Concordia University)
  • C.C.Y. Kwan (McMaster University)
  • I. Morgan (Queen's University)
  • S. Perrakis (University of Ottawa)
  • G. Roberts (Dalhousie University)
  • M.C. To (Ecole H.E.C)
  • R.W. White (University of Western Ontario)

          2016-2017 Board of Directors

        Murray Carlson

        University of British Columbia: Program Co-Chair

        Francesca Carrieri

        McGill University: Director at Large

        Jan Ericsson

        McGill University: Director at Large

        Louis Gagnon

        Queen's University: President (March 19, 2017 - Sept. 17, 2017)

        Ranjini Jha

        University of Waterloo: Treasurer

        Katya Malinova

        University of Toronto: Secretary

        Vikas Mehrotra

        University of Alberta: Director at Large

        Maria Pacurar

        Dalhousie University: Program Co-Chair

        Lynnette Purda

        Queen's University: President (Sept. 18, 2016 - March 19, 2017)

        Andriy Shkilko
        Wilfred Laurier University: Director at Large

© Northern Finance Association
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software